Headhunting in a geopolitically important multi-ethnic country like Ukraine is one of the biggest challenges. In addition to Ukrainians and Russians, the population consists of over 100 different ethnic groups. Ukraine, as a sovereign state, has only existed since 1991, when a democratic referendum called for independence upon the collapse of the Soviet Union.

However, in the Democracy Index (2018) Ukraine only ranks 84th between Bolivia and Honduras and is referred to as a “hybrid regime” despite its parliamentary-democratic organization of government.

Ukrainian foreign policy was described as “multivectoral” until the crisis. On the one hand, the country was striving for closer relations with NATO and the EU, on the other hand, good relations with Russia were essential.

Since its independence, Ukraine has most importantly suffered from severe economic problems, so that its performance from Soviet times could no longer be achieved. The gross domestic product of Ukraine has undergone very strong fluctuations in the last 10 years, between more than 15 % downturn and 5.5 % growth (compared to the corresponding previous year). It is therefore not surprising that the high level of political and economic uncertainty means that many Ukrainians emigrate and the population has decreased by more than 6.25 million people. The so-called brain drain has become a dramatic normality in Ukraine, because young, well-educated and highly qualified people in particular have become tired of corruption and the poor economic prospects in the country.

Over the decades, the country, which had been traditionally characterized by agriculture, has developed into a country focused on services. Around 50% of the gross domestic product is now generated by service providers. Especially the IT, research and development sectors represent are a few growth markets in Ukraine, so that many international and well-known technology companies are outsource projects to Ukraine. In 2017, the British Global Sourcing Association even voted Ukraine the best “offshoring destination” worldwide.

Remel Executive Search is your headhunter / HR consultancy, which is familiar with the geopolitical and cultural challenges and will therefore provide you with optimal support, especially in HR consulting and filling specialist and executive positions in Ukraine.

In this country, Remel Executive Search can handle the search for you as a headhunter also in the following cities:


  • Kiev
  • Kharkiv
  • Odessa
  • Dnipro

Contact us

Das Headhunting in einem geopolitisch bedeutsamen Vielvölkerstaat wie der Ukraine stellt eine der größten Herausforderungen dar. Die Bevölkerung besteht neben Ukrainern und Russen aus über 100 unterschiedlichen Ethnien. Die Ukraine als souveräner Staat existiert jedoch erst seit 1991, als durch den Zerfall der Sowjetunion ein demokratisches Referendum die Unabhängigkeit eingefordert hat.

Im Demokratieindex (2018) belegt die Ukraine zwischen Bolivien und Honduras jedoch nur den 84. Platz und wird trotz seiner parlamentarisch-demokratisch organisierten Staatsform als „Hybridregime“ bezeichnet.

Die ukrainische Außenpolitik wurde bis zur Krimmkrise als „multivektoral“ bezeichnet. Einerseits strebte das Land engere Beziehungen zur NATO und EU an, andererseits waren gute Beziehungen zu Russland unabdingbar.

Seit ihrer Unabhängigkeit leidet die Ukraine aber hauptsächlich unter schweren wirtschaftlichen Problemen, sodass die Leistungsfähigkeit aus Sowjet-Zeiten nicht mehr erreicht werden konnte. Das Bruttoinlandsprodukt der Ukraine pendelte in den letzten 10 Jahren sehr stark zwischen mehr als 15% Abschwung und 5,5% Wachstum (im Vergleich zum jeweiligen Vorjahr). Es ist also nicht verwunderlich, dass durch die hohe politische und wirtschaftliche Unsicherheit viele Ukrainer auswandern und die Einwohnerzahl um mehr als 6,25 Millionen Menschen gesunken ist. Die Talentabwanderung – das sogenannte Brain Drain – ist in der Ukraine zur dramatischen Normalität geworden, weil vor allem junge, gut ausgebildete und hoch qualifizierte Menschen der Korruption und der schlechten wirtschaftlichen Perspektiven im Land überdrüssig geworden sind.

Das traditionell von der Landwirtschaft geprägte Land hat sich über die Jahrzehnte zu einem Dienstleistungsland entwickelt. Mittlerweile werden rund 50% des Bruttoinlandsproduktes von Dienstleistern erwirtschaftet. Vor allem der Bereich IT, Forschung und Entwicklung sind einige wenige Wachstumsmärkte in der Ukraine, sodass viele internationale und namhafte Tech-Unternehmen Projekt-Outsourcing in der Ukraine betreiben. 2017 hat die britische Global Sourcing Association die Ukraine sogar zur besten "Offshoring Destination" weltweit gekürt.

Remel Executive Search ist Ihr Headhunter / Personalberater, dem die geopolitischen und kulturellen Herausforderungen vertraut sind und Sie deshalb vor allem bei der Personalberatung und Besetzung von Fach- und Führungspositionen in der Ukraine ideal unterstützen wird.

Hier kann Remel Executive Search für Sie als Headhunter unter anderem in den folgenden Städten die Suche übernehmen:


  • Kiew
  • Charkiw
  • Odessa
  • Dnipro

Kontaktieren Sie uns